Compliance and Accreditations

Google undergoes several independent third party audits on a regular basis to provide this assurance. This means that an independent auditor has examined the controls present in Google's data centers, infrastructure and operations. Google has annual audits for the following standards:

SSAE16 / ISAE 3402 Type II:



SOC 3 public audit report

ISO 27001, one of the most widely recognized, internationally accepted independent security standards. Google has earned ISO 27001 certification for the systems, applications, people, technology, processes and data centers serving Google Cloud Platform.


The ISO 27001 Certificate for Google Cloud Platform is here.


Google has also earned the ISO 27001 certification for Google's shared Common Infrastructure. The ISO 27001 Certificate for Common Infrastructure is here.


ISO 27017, Cloud Security, This is an international standard of practice for information security controls based on ISO/IEC 27002 specifically for cloud services. Google's ISO 27017 Certificate is here.


ISO 27018, Cloud Privacy, This is an international standard of practice for protection of personally identifiable information (PII) in public clouds services. Google's ISO 27018 Certificate is here.


FedRamp ATO for Google App Engine


PCI DSS v3.1


Google’s third party audit approach is designed to be comprehensive in order to provide assurances of Google’s level of information security with regard to confidentiality, integrity and availability. Customers may use these third party audits to assess how Google’s products can meet their compliance and data-processing needs.


Google Cloud Platform will also support HIPAA covered customers by entering into a Business Associates Agreement. The Cloud Platform BAA currently covers Compute Engine, Cloud Storage, Cloud SQL for MySQL, Cloud Dataproc, Genomics, BigQuery, Container Engine, Container Registry, Cloud Dataflow, Cloud Bigtable, Cloud Pub/Sub, Cloud Translation API, and Cloud Speech API. Learn more about HIPAA compliance.


Google Cloud has completed the Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) STAR Self-Assessment. Learn more here.

Google Cloud Platform and the EU Data Protection Directive

As part of Google’s rigorous privacy and compliance standards and commitment to you, Google Inc. is certified under the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework and the Swiss-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework. In addition, Google offers Cloud Platform customers EU model contract clauses as a method to meet the adequacy and security requirements of the EU Data Protection Directive. The European Union's data protection authorities have concluded that Google's model contract clauses meet EU regulatory expectations, confirming that Google Cloud services provide sufficient commitments to frame international data flows from Europe to the rest of the world. For details on the approval of the Google Cloud from the Article 29 Working Party, please see the respective decisions for G Suite and the Google Cloud Platform. Learn more about EU Data Protection.

MPAA Best Practices Guidelines

The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) has created a best practices guideline for cloud providers. Under a shared security model, customers using Google Cloud Platform can configure their cloud services to support these best practices. While not a formal certification, the control aspects of the guidelines map closely to Google’s existing third party audited core compliance programs, including ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27108, and CSA STAR certifications. This document details the MPAA controls that Google Cloud Platform supports. Google contracts with a third party auditor to validate these controls on a regular basis.