Collaboration to improve productivity with G Suite

Posted: 16 Jan 2019

G Suite is a Cloud-based productivity suite that helps to connect teams from all over the world on any device. It allows you to work smarter and facilitates collaboration, saving time and allowing your business to focus on what matters.

As a Google Cloud Premier Partner, we have many years of experience of deploying G Suite. Netpremacy ensures that we support you every step of the way, helping you and your employees get the most out of G Suite.

G Suite has greatly developed over the past decade to make collaboration more intelligent.

AI and machine learning are now being used to protect the world’s emails, and G Suite enables businesses to concentrate on collaboration to better connect their teams.

Collaborating in real time with your colleagues on a document not only saves time but also makes version control easy because it’s all in one place. This is great for preventing loss of data and unnecessary duplicates – which can be incredibly frustrating and hard to track. Documents are created, edited and saved automatically from any device, including mobiles. Multiple users can work on the same document simultaneously without worry, thanks to the comments, chat and edit auditing functionalities. With G Suite your organisation can move faster together, using intelligent, cloud-based applications to collaborate from anywhere, in real time.

So, how does collaboration work?

Collaborating on a document is simple and straightforward. Create a new Doc, Sheet, or Slide; click the Share button in the top right, and add your colleagues using their email handle.

They will then receive an email informing them that you have shared a document and will be able to click into the document straight from their inbox.

When sharing a document you have three different sharing permissions to choose from: Edit, Comment and View. Edit access allows collaborators to make changes to your document. Comment access allows collaborators to leave comments or suggestions on your document. View means that the person you have shared the document with is only able to preview the final edits (they cannot see suggestions, comments or the version history).

As soon as they enter the document, you will see their picture at the top right of the screen, this picture will be surrounded by a colour that matches the cursor of that collaborator in your document. Click on a collaborators picture to go to where they are working in your document.

Commenting

Add comments into the document by highlighting a section of text you want to draw attention to and click the message icon bubble that appears on the right of the page. Tag a colleague in a comment by inserting ‘+’ followed by their email address (you will be prompted with a drop-down of your contacts). Alternatively, assigning a task means that an individual has an action to complete on your document. Colleagues can search for documents with tasks in their Google Drive search bar. When your colleague has completed a task or dealt with a comment, they can simply click ‘resolve’ or ‘✓’.

Version History

See who has made changes and when. This also allows you to revert your document to a previous version. Find version history under your ‘File’ menu. Here you can name the current version of your document or see the full version history. Selecting a previous version will prompt the ‘restore this version’ button to appear. This will restore your document to how it was in the version you selected.

Real-time collaboration and editing

This allows you to see your colleagues making changes and editing the document, right in front of you.

Why collaborate in a document?

Collaborative tools allow for your employees to be more productive and get more done in a working day. The collaboration functionality eliminates frustrations of duplicates, as there is just one version of the document you are working on at all times, saving confusion, error and data loss.

How can Netpremacy help?

Netpremacy’s dedicated and highly skilled Cloud consultants can guide you through your full G Suite journey. From technical assistance and advice during deployment to onsite training on G Suite, and ongoing support services after deployment. Our teams ensure that we are on hand from start to finish. We ensure that your transition is as smooth as possible, your teams are correctly trained on how to best utilise G Suite.

You can find out more about G Suite, and the training our dedicated Change management and training teams provide here, or feel free to contact us for more information on collaboration with G Suite.

Share

Comment